❗Note: Once finished, the process can't be reversed. Merged users can not be unmerged.

As long as they belong to the same organization account, users can be merged regardless of the settings you have appointed them, whether they have different tracking settings, are added as different users (company or personal), are active or deactivated etc.

Merging employees can be done in 2 ways:

  1. πŸ‘‰ We can gladly merge users for you - reach out to us via in app chat or this email address - support@workpuls.com. Send us the list of users for merging, and how you prefer to merge them - which user is the source and which one the destination.

  2. πŸ‘‰ If you wish, you can also merge employee users yourself from the Workpuls dashboard. This article guides you through the manual merge process.

Merging scenarios you can choose from

  • Keep both the source and the destination users, transfer historical data to the destination user with both users/devices logging data

  • Keep both the source and the destination users, transfer historical data to the destination user with logging data for one user/device only

  • Keep the destination user only, deactivate the source, transfer historical data from source to the destination folder and data will be logged for the destination user/device only

❗ Note: You can have multiple source users merged to one destination user. But the destination user can not be a source user in any other merge process.


How the merging works and what to expect


We take the pair of users, one called the source user other the destination user. When we merge the two, the data from the source user will be transfered to the destination user. Furthermore, all future logs from both users will be displayed on the destination user.

➑️ The following data is historically merged:

  • time tracked (on Employees, Teams and Time & Attendance page)

  • productivity metrics (on Employees, Teams and Time & Attendance page)

  • app/website usage

  • screenshots created

  • timesheets

  • project & task time

This means that all the shifts, projects and productivity-related data is transferred from the source employee to the destination employee.

πŸ‘‰ Please keep in mind the following:

Activity logs - It displays the employee name and computer name of the actual employee user who had this activity in the past - historical data will not be altered after the merge on Activity logs page.

Real-time insights - If both the source and the destination employee track time simultaneously, Real-time insights displays only the activity from the destination employee, source employee's shift is not represented on the Real Time page at all; however it is regularly displayed on the timesheets.

Employees list - On the admin dashboard will still include source employees if you click on Merged tab. They will not be shown on Active employees tab.

Timelines - After merging employee users, if there are any overlapping shifts, on the timelines they are displayed so that the source employee shift overlays destination employee shift for the observed period on the timelines.



How merging affects billing and charges

Source users will not be billed. If you merge two users into one, you will be charged for one user only.

Did this answer your question?