Idle time represents the amount of time employee was not actively working on a computer. By default, Workpuls is set to recognize and track Idle time after 2 minutes of constant inactivity.

👨‍💻Example: Let's say that a user stops using their computer at 4:00 PM and doesn't do any mouse clicks and/or keyboard strokes until 4:20 when they continue actively working on their computer. Workpuls will detect Idle time at 4:02 (after 2 minutes of inactivity), which will result in showing employee as Idle for 20 minutes - from the last activity at 4:00 until the next mouse click or keyboard stroke - which happened at 4:20 in this example.  

Setting up or changing Idle time is quite easy:

  1. Choose Settings on the sidebar and click on Tracking Settings to go to shared settings screen

  2. Click on three dots button on the far right for the specific Tracking Settings for which you wish to edit Idle time

  3. Under Tracking Time section choose after which interval you wish Workpuls to start recording time as Idle. You can set it to 30 seconds, 1, 2, 3, 5 or 10 minutes (the default setting is 2 minutes).

  4. Save changes by clicking on the Save button in the upper right corner. 

🧐Good to know - In case your Employees spend time on Apps and Websites where the Don't track time option is applied, the time they spent there will be automatically logged as Idle. However, if your Employees are using Apps and Websites that don't require constant mouse or keyboard input (Teams, Google Meet etc.) and you wish to prevent Idle time in these cases, you can enable the Always Active setting for these Apps and Websites.

Note: Idle time, when observed in real time on the Timesheets, is subject to a short sync delay in some scenarios, especially when the internet connection is slower or interrupted. Longer Idle time might be displayed as a result. The sync usually doesn't last long but it depends on the severity of network difficulties users might be experiencing.

Did this answer your question?